Phishing Alert: Request to re-activate closed account

Fish on a plateThe Help Desk has received multiple reports of a phishing email that warns recipients that “We have temporarily limited all access to sensitive account” and requests users to click on the provided link to reactivate their account.  It includes all the tell-tale signs of a phish: it attempts to create a false sense of urgency, requests you click on a suspicious link to address the problem, is from a non-Brown account and not sent directly to your email account, and contains grammar and formatting errors. DO NOT CLICK on the link.

Instead, before deleting it, open the original copy of the email you received and then click on the down arrow, to the right of the REPLY button, and select “Report phishing.” This will send that message immediately to the GMail Team for analysis and filtering.  Read more about how to spot a phish.

Posted in Outages & Alerts, Phishing & Malware Alerts, Safe Computing | Comments Off