Michael Rule : NSF Awardee

Congratulations to Michael Rule, who received a three-year predoctoral fellowship award from the National Science Foundation and also to Nicholas Bellono and Natalie Chavez both of whom received an NSF predoctoral fellowship award and who work with Elena Oancea, an NSGP Trainer.  Michael joins current NSGP students, Justine Allen, Jon Barchi, Michelle Fogerson, Lach Franquemont, and Kaivon Paroo, who currently hold or held the NSF predoctoral fellowship.

Laura Bonaccorsi Selected to Attend Okinawa Summer Course

Second year NSGP student Laura Bonaccorsi was selected to attend the Okinawa Institute of Science and Technology’s summer Developmental Neurobiology Course (DNC2012) to learn more about how the brain builds itself. The intensive two week course gathers a select group of graduate students and post docs from around the world to learn from leaders in the field, including our own Anne Hart, through both lectures and lab training.

Barry Connors and Diane Lipscombe : AAAS Fellows

Congratulations to Barry Connors, Professor and Chair, Department of Neuroscience, and Diane Lipscombe, Professor, Department of Neuroscience, who were both recently named as Fellows of the American Association for the Advancement of Science.    They join David Berson, Sheila Blumstein, Leon Cooper, John Donoghue, and Edward Hawrot as NSGP Trainers to receive this accolade.

University Seed Grant to Professors Kauer and Lipscombe

Two NSGP trainers, Julie Kauer, Department of Molecular Pharmacology, Physiology and Biotechnology, and Diane Lipscombe, Department of Neuroscience, have received $85,000 in University funds to investigate molecular and cellular mechanisms underlying the transition from acute to chronic pain.  The seed funds will enable Professors Kauer and Lipscombe to gather preliminary data for NIH grant proposals.  See the full press release at the following URL.


Mark Zervas receives grant to study tuberous sclerosis

Mark Zervas, an NSGP trainer and Manning Assistant Professor in the Department of Molecular Biology, Cell Biology and Biochemistry, has received a Department of Defense grant to study the disease tuberous sclerosis in a novel mouse model. Tuberous Sclerosis is a developmental genetic disorder that has neurological effects in many patients including autism, cognitive deficit, and epilepsy.  Elizabeth Normand, an NSGP graduate student and Dr. Zervas will seek to link specific brain regions and cell types to neurological manifestations of the disease.  [text paraphrased from Brown University press release]

Diane Lipscombe to give Plenary Lecture

Diane Lipscombe will deliver the Joan Mott Prize Plenary Lecture at this year’s Physiological Society meeting to occur in Edinburgh, July 2012.  She joins Cori Bargmann (Rockefeller University, Gareth Leng (University of Edinburgh), and Jere Mitchell (UT Southwestern Medical Center), among others to discuss their work at this venerable professional society.